Top Tag

The U.S. Intelligence Community

Today, President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. declared that a major disaster exists in the State of Iowa and ordered Federal aid to supplement State, tribal, and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, flooding, straight-line winds, and tornadoes beginning on June 16, 2024, and continuing.

The President’s action makes Federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of Clay, Emmet, Lyon, Plymouth, and Sioux.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding also is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work in the counties of Buena Vista, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Plymouth, and Sioux.

Lastly, Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Mr. DuWayne Tewes of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has been appointed to coordinate Federal recovery operations in the affected areas.

Damage assessments are continuing in other areas, and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are fully completed.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated areas can begin applying for assistance at, by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362), or by using the FEMA App. Anyone using a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, can give FEMA the number for that service. 



The post President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Iowa Disaster Declaration appeared first on The White House.

You may also like

Home Ethos About Contact
Terms Policy GDPR RichTVX
© Saeculum XXI U.S. Intelligence News